Home > Computers and Internet > Windows Mobile – Please turn off Flight mode when turning on Bluetooth

Windows Mobile – Please turn off Flight mode when turning on Bluetooth

I have been an obsessive owner of a Windows Mobile PC (the new I-mate JAM) for some time now. The reason I opted for a Windows based pocket PC rather than any other variety is my undying love for outlook – and the desire to have everything interoperable between all varieties of computers that I own. Ok … so I might have made it sound more ominous than it actually is. its just a desktop at home, laptop from work… and the mobile device for…. where ever.

Given that there are not a lot of Windows Mobile users around in our neck of the woods, nor has the technology been in wide use for long (so far the users who’ve opted for the ‘PDA’ style phones – since phone is the primary, or in most cases the only use the devices are put to – has been for their cosmetic appeal — whatever); there is not a lot of information available related to issues/solutions you encounter with these devices (after all .. its MS windows.. they have a reputation to live up to).

I would be listing down some issues with their solutions that I’ve come across… though there are quite a few others which I have no idea how to fix.

One very frequent problem I have had with my device is the "Please turn off Flight mode" error when trying to switch on Bluetooth.

This usually happens when I’m on the move and need to access the Internet, which though extremely usable on the HTC device itself, does not allow me to connect to our corporate VPN (which requires a client that I only have available on the laptop). In such cases its always very infuriarating to have to switch the device off and on and still not get it to work. A few days ago I think I figured out what the issue was, or so I believe.

I noticed this error usually occurs when the device power is running low. Exactly at what battery level it starts throwing this error I have not determined as yet. So far my observation has led me to believe this actually is the cause of the error. If anyone finds out other wise I will highly appreciate the information.

That’s one down, following is a whole list of issues that makes no sense:-

  1. Modem hardware failure (when to use the device as a bluetooth GPRS modem)
  2. ActiveSync – synchronization using Bluetooth (does NOT work :()
  3. WModem – The built in USB Wireless modem software (AFAIK its supposed to enable you to use the device as a wireless modem so that you can use the GPRS connection on the device for connecting your Desktop/laptop (host machine) to the internet).

If anyone has been able to get the last 2 to work, please…and please (once again) do drop me a line. 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment